Gel Mani: Alexander McQueen – Iconic Yellow Dress

Hi everyone!

It’s my birthday today but I’m a bit of a workaholic so here I am posting even though Jenrine told me not to do anything work-related. Oops! Actually, I woke up early from dreaming about the opening of the salon and my heart was racing so I couldn’t go back to sleep after that. I guess I must be too excited and worried about all the work that needs to be done. 😦

So… here I am sharing this AWESOME design! I say awesome because it’s based on a really beautiful Alexander McQueen dress, which Drew Barrymore is photographed wearing here:

mcqueenset

I’m loving the intricate lace details and the colour! I was thrilled when my client gave me this customisation request and asked for the dress details to be done on her nails with a clear base and yellow gradient.

20130509-083949.jpg

She gave me free rein to simplify the details and to use sections of the dress on different nails. This customisation request was relatively simple in that sense, as all I needed to do was to pick details that would fit onto the various nails and look good as a whole set. The process of translating a dress into a nail design involves some simplifying because the nail is so much smaller than the dress and it would be impossible to squeeze too much detail onto the nail.

20130509-084108.jpg

I like how this design starts with a clear base so any nail growth will be less obvious, and how the yellow gradient is such a striking colour that really complements the black details. This set is super chic and allows you to make a statement with your nails.

On a somewhat related note, my purple-headed partner had me do her nails awhile back and she also loved this design, but since her hair colour tends to stain her nails, we did it in a purple version instead. Here’s a screengrab from my Instagram:

20130509-090249.jpg

That’s all from me for now. Heading to RWS Marine Life Park SEA Aquarium in a bit!

Love,
Ying

One thought on “Gel Mani: Alexander McQueen – Iconic Yellow Dress

Leave a Reply

